Wallabies captain Michael Hooper named John Eales Medal winner for third time

Wallabies captain Michael Hooper has gained his third John Eales Medal, becoming a member of Israel Folau as the one gamers to win the celebrated award 3 times.

Hooper polled 91 factors within the player-led vote, ending simply three factors forward of final yr’s winner Marika Koroibete, whereas James Slipper was third with 79 factors.


Nic White (61 factors) and Reece Hodge (56) rounded out the highest 5.

Michael Hooper has won the John Eales Medal for a third time.

Bradley Kanaris/Getty Photographs

Michael Hooper has gained the John Eales Medal for a 3rd time.


In a pandemic-reduced season, the Wallabies performed six exams, profitable one, drawing three and losing two.

* Eddie Jones: ‘Test rugby is a simple game, that is where people get a bit confused’
* Rugby World Cup: Fiji loom as a threat in pool brimming with Kiwi coaches
* Zac Guildford: turning his own life around, helping others do the same
* Rugby World Cup: All Blacks draw hosts France in 2023 tournament

“On behalf of the Australian Rugby neighborhood, I wish to congratulate all of our winners all through the Rugby Australia Awards sequence,” Rugby Australia interim boss Rob Clarke mentioned.


“I might particularly wish to congratulate our Wallabies captain, Michael Hooper, on profitable the John Eales Medal for a 3rd time.

Michael Hooper has joined Israel Folau as the only players to win the prestigious award three times.

Cameron Spencer/Getty Photographs


Michael Hooper has joined Israel Folau as the one gamers to win the celebrated award 3 times.

“Michael is an unimaginable rugby participant, an excellent captain and a very good chief on-and-off the sector.

“The best way he conducts himself is a credit score to him and the values he lives his life by, and we congratulate him on his achievement.


“All our winners totally deserve the accolades in what has been a difficult 2020.”

The 29-year-old, who performed his 100th Check through the season, first captained the Wallabies in 2014, changing into the youngest man to guide Australia in 50 years.


Hooper’s third medal, along with his 2013 and 2016 awards, means he joins Folau (2014, 2015 and 2017) with a hat-trick of medals.

Nathan Sharpe, George Smith and David Pocock have all gained the medal twice.


Checklist of John Eales Medal winners

2002: George Smith

2003: Phil Waugh


2004: David Lyons

2005: Jeremy Paul

2006: Chris Latham


2007: Nathan Sharpe

2008: George Smith

2009: Matt Giteau


2010: David Pocock

2011: Kurtley Beale

2012: Nathan Sharpe


2013: Michael Hooper

2014: Israel Folau

2015: Israel Folau


2016: Michael Hooper

2017: Israel Folau

2018: David Pocock


2019: Marika Koroibete

2020: Michael Hooper

– NINE’S Large World of Sports activities.