USDA affords reduction for MI farmers after dangerous planting season | Information

The U.S. Division of Agriculture named 43 Michigan Counties as main catastrophe zones, making them elgible for help.


KALAMAZOO COUNTY (WKZO AM/FM) — After a traditionally dangerous planting season left farmers susceptible, they’re now seeing assist from a federal company. 

Governor Gretchen Whitmer  despatched a letter to U.S. Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue requesting federal help for Michigan farmers below the Federal Crop Insurance coverage Program earlier this year. 

After months of going via the approval course of, The U.S. Division of Agriculture despatched a letter on Oct. 31 to the governor saying 43 Michigan Counties as main pure catastrophe areas, and 31 further counties as contiguous catastrophe areas. 

In Southwest Michigan, this consists of Berrien, Cass, St. Joseph counties as main catastrophe zones. Kalamazoo and Van Buren counties are categorised as contigous catastrophe areas. 

The brand new designations below USDA guidlines permit farmer to entry sure help from the company, together with crop insurance coverage packages and FSA emergency loans.  

 Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of a catastrophe declaration to use for emergency loans.

These in search of to make the most of help are inspired to succeed in out to their native USDA Farm Service Company Workplace. Extra info may be discovered at