Summer time cloud and seaside scenes photographed with an Iphone 6
Workers video by Mark R. Sullivan
Mark R. Sullivan
Seaside season is lastly right here — once we can pack up the automotive and head to the Jersey Shore to calm down. Nonetheless, as New Jerseyans are properly conscious, the Backyard State always has new guidelines and rules, and that additionally applies to our award-winning seashores.
Spending a day on the boardwalk? Here is what you might want to know to keep protected and ticket-free this summer season.
No extra alcoholic drinks
The final public seaside in New Jersey, Sandy Hook, has banned alcoholic drinks to coincide with the remainder of the state’s public seashores.
Public seashores are the important thing phrase right here, as you may nonetheless go to a privately owned bar/restaurant on the seaside, buy a beverage and hang around on their seaside to get pleasure from your drink. Institutions akin to Martell’s Tiki Bar in Level Nice is one instance of a spot the place you should purchase a drink and produce it all the way down to the seaside in an enclosed space that’s owned by the bar with out dealing with a wonderful.
Severe fines for consuming
Violating the consuming legal guidelines on public seashores can result in severe fines, beginning at $200 for an open container violation all the best way to a $2000 wonderful and 90 days in jail. These fines are imposed by particular person townships and the farther south you go, the harsher the fines appear to be.
Some seashores are stricter than others, akin to Avon-by-the-Sea, Bay Head, Brick Township, Island Seaside State Park and Spring Lake, all of which have alcohol checkpoints the place you and your belongings could be looked for alcoholic drinks earlier than coming into the seaside.
The police and seaside employees are instructed to be looking out for anybody who is likely to be consuming on the seashores, so beware! In the event you assume you may simply put your alcoholic beverage into one other container or thermos, assume once more. The police are identified to walk about on the lookout for suspicious conduct and if caught, you may face a harsh wonderful. And do not even take into consideration getting caught consuming underage!
Go away the vape at residence
Wish to smoke on the seashores or on a boardwalk in New Jersey? In case you are caught smoking or vaping on any boardwalk within the state, you may face a wonderful of $250 and as much as a $1000 on the third offense.
This may occasionally come as a shock to people who smoke who usually depart boardwalk bars to have a cigarette simply exterior. Plus, this doesn’t have an effect on simply the boardwalk, however the seashores as properly. Cities are allowed to make designated smoking areas alongside the boardwalk the place smoking can be permitted, however beware when lighting up on the seaside.
What do you consider the brand new legal guidelines in New Jersey? Some might imagine they’re much-needed and others might really feel like these precautions are pointless. How will these legal guidelines have an effect on boardwalk companies and their prospects, who’re so wanted to assist the Jersey Shore thrive?
Michael Politz, a lifelong New Jersey resident, has labored within the restaurant and bar business for 20 years. He at the moment bartends at Water and Wine Ristorante, an upscale Italian eatery and bar in Watchung. His beer, wine and liquor column, Spirits of N.J., seems Wednesdays.
Learn or Share this story: https://www.mycentraljersey.com/story/leisure/eating/2019/06/12/nj-drinking-smoking-laws/1410586001/